#Reverb2016: Intentions

I’m borrowing this idea from Aubrey.  It seemed like a nice way to end off the year.  More details on what it is are here: #Reverb2016.

I haven’t told her yet, but Katie and I are going to do this together *grins*

We’re behind just a bit, but I think we can catch up!

Intentions.  Let’s set our intention for the month of December on writing, creativity, and expression.  What do you hope to get out of a month of writing each day?  What is your favorite part about writing – the idea, the first words, the final sentiments?

Rachel – I’d like to have a little more life on our teeny blog.  And I’d like to share some holiday traditions, maybe start some new ones, and bring more light into this dark season.  I’ve been struggling with a series of really grey days around here lately and today the SUN finally broke through and I feel like a new person suddenly.

My favorite part about writing is probably the dizzying possibility that is inherent in it.  You never know quite what you’ll end up with!  A gripping drama, a heartfelt appeal, or a goofy comedy.  I’m probably half goofy comedy with some notes of the others thrown in.  I’m great at beginnings, but not to good at endings.  Which is why I roped Katie in.  She’s good at sticking to it!

Also, here’s my honest declaration, I will probably prattle on about knitting and crafting a whole lot.

Katie – Rachel texted me about this while I was working at my part-time museum job this morning 🙂 I’m writing novels full time now, so I want to use this month to bring more variety to my writing routine. I’m writing lesbian romance (under my author name, Marian Snowe) so I absolutely love what I write for my job, but I find that since I’m spending all week writing my novels, I never write anything else. And I’d like to get back to that.

My favorite parts of writing are crafting perfect, subtly meaningful sentences 🙂 Each sentence I write in my novels can’t be perfect (not to my standards, or else I’d get nothing done) so I have to reign in that impulse. Hopefully this challenge will give me an opportunity to let it have just a teensy bit more control 🙂 Or, on the other hand, to ramble pointlessly 😄 Which I also enjoy.

One thought on “#Reverb2016: Intentions

Leave a Reply

